Arts Entertainments

Lawrence Sanders, Author Biographies

The best-selling American author, Lawrence Sanders, was born on March 15, 1920, in Brooklyn, New York, but grew up in the Midwest. He attended Wabash College in Indiana and earned a BA in journalism in 1940. After returning to New York, Lawrence enlisted in the United States Marine Corps and served from 1943 to 1946.

Lawrence took on a variety of jobs that included writing and editing for various journals, including Science and Mechanic. Several of his mystery tales were published in Swank Magazine in 1968-1969.

In 1970, at the age of 50, Lawrence Sanders’ first novel, The Anderson Tapes, was published and won the Edgar Award for Best First Mystery Novel. This award is a highly coveted award and the most prestigious awarded by the Association of Mystery Writers.

Lawrence Sanders went on to write fiction full time. With Anderson Tapes, we meet Edward X. Delaney, a tough investigator from New York. Other characters in the Lawrence Sanders series are Archy McNally, Timothy Cone, and Peter Tangent. Then there are Commandment stars Dora Conti, Samuel Todd, and Joshua Bigg.

In addition to his series, Sanders wrote 15 independent novels before publishing his memoir, The Sins of Lawrence Sanders in 1984.

Lawrence Sanders died in Pompano Beach, Florida, on February 7, 1998. There was some controversy over his Archy McNally series. Who really wrote the first books? Did Sanders and Vincent Lardo write the books together? Was Vincent Lardo the real author? However, it was (as claimed) commissioned by the Lawrence Sander heirs to continue the deed.



Edward S. Delaney
The Anderson Tapes (1970)
The First Mortal Sin (1973)
The Second Daily Sin (1973)
The Third Deadly Sin (1981)
The Fourth Deadly Sin (1985)
Peter tangent
The Tangent Factor (1976)
The Objective of the Tangent (1976)


The Sixth Commandment (1978)
The Tenth Commandment (1980)
The Eighth Commandment (1986)
The Seventh Commandment (1991)

Timothy cone

The Timothy Files (1987)
Timothy’s Game (1988)

Archy McNally

McNally’s Secret (1991)
McNally’s Luck (1992)
McNally’s Risk (1993) (With Vincent Lardo)
McNallyís Caper (1994)
McNally’s Trial (1995)
McNallyís Puzzle (6)
McNallyís Gamble (1997) (With Vincent Lardo)
McNally’s Dilemma (1999) (With Vincent Lardo)
McNallyís Folly (2000) (With Vincent Lardo)
McNallyís Chance (2001) (With Vincent Lardo)
McNallyís Alibi (2002) (With Vincent Lardo)
McNallyís Dare (2003) (With Vincent Lardo)
McNallyís Bluff (2004) (With Vincent Lardo)
McNally Archives (Novella) (2006)


Helen’s Pleasures (1971)
Love Songs (1972)
Tomorrow’s Archive (1975)
The Marlow Chronicles (1977)
Caper (1980) (written as Leslie Andress)
The Dark Summer (1980) (written as Mark Upton)
The Lucy Bending Affair (1982)
The Seduction of Peter S. (1983)
The Passion of Molly T. (1984)
The Loves of Harry Dancer (1985)
The Dream Lover (1986)
Tales of the Wolf (1986)
Capital crimes (1989)
Stolen Blessings (1990)
Sullivan’s Sting (1990)
Private Pleasures (1993)
Guilty Pleasures (1998)
No fiction
The Sins of Lawrence Sanders (1984)

Short stories:

Posted in Swank Magazine
Manhattan after dark
The rogue man
The Bloody Triangle
The man who did not return
The woman at the lake
The blues chain
The case of the stolen princess
Death of a model
The office girl
The curse of the upper classes
The ice gang
Introduction to murder
The case of the missing nude

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *